Reflecting on the Journey: Lessons from Dropout to Dr. Gallo

Dr. Gallo Curveball: Baseball Flows Newsletter

Hey Baseball Flows Family,

As the year comes to a close, I find myself reflecting on the incredible journey from a high school dropout to Dr. Gallo. How professional baseball taught me invaluable life lessons. How it took me from an underdog to a pro. It's been a rollercoaster of ups and downs, but each twist and turn has shaped the person I am today.

🌈 Lesson 1: Diverse Perspectives Matter

One of the key lessons learned—surround yourself with dreamers and doers. When I arrived at Dodgertown, the atmosphere was great. I was surrounded by human beings who had reached the pinnacle of baseball (MLB), and listening and learning from them paved the way for a clear perspective on how to get ahead in life. Ambition is contagious, and the people around you can be the fuel for your aspirations.

🏞️ Lesson 2: Change Your Scenery, Change Your Life

I grew up in a toxic environment filled with drug dealers and gangs, it shaped a fixed mindset, which resulted in me dropping out of high school. When you don’t know better, you cannot do better, and the environment I grew up in was toxic. Lesson number 2, If life feels toxic, change it—no matter what it takes. I was lucky enough to get drafted by the Dodgers, which led to buying my parents a home and a change in our environment.

🕰️ Lesson 3: You Are Not Your Past

Your past does not define you; it is a stepping stone to who you are becoming. Live and learn, embracing a growth mindset rather than dwelling on fixed perspectives. I remember my first day in Spring training, Tommy LaSorda started by telling us how our college, high school, or last year’s statistics did not matter. That we would be given a chance to pave a new career path by performing well in Spring. Every year, was an opportunity to prove that we belonged at the next level.

🌱 Lesson 4: Small Steps Lead to Monumental Changes

Just as the Statue of David wasn't built in a day, progress comes from daily effort. Chip away at your dreams consistently, and over time, you'll see monumental changes. One of the biggest changes I made from the person I was when I dropped out of high school to my doctorate was in my understanding of incremental gains. How showing up was not half the battle. It was the battle. Pro baseball demanded that of me. No days off! 1% better, the more I did the more it ingrained my work ethic and commitment to succeed.

💪 Lesson 5: Embrace Discomfort

Run towards discomfort—it's never as bad as you imagine. The challenges you face are the catalysts for growth and resilience. I remember my first day of professional baseball. Everyone was bigger, stronger, better than any player I had ever played with. I am not going to lie, it was uncomfortable and I wanted to quit after a couple of weeks. I felt lonely, overwhelmed, and outmatched, but something kicked in within me. It was a won’t-be-denied attitude. It came out of nowhere, and once it came it has never left me.

🔄 Lesson 6: Rethink Assumptions and Beliefs

Challenge assumptions and beliefs that might be holding you back. Unlearning is a crucial part of the learning process, opening doors to new opportunities. Growing up I learned a lot of unhealthy habits. One was my assumption that life was working against me, instead of for me. I used to make excuses for all my failures until I realized that I had to take accountability.

🤔 Lesson 7: Cultivate Curiosity

Think like a detective—ask questions, explore, and be curious. The more you search, the more you discover. I remember that in pro ball I was a sponge. I was around Adrian Beltre, Alex Cora, Mike Piazza, Paul Konerko, and many more MLB players, so I would just sit and watch them take ground balls, hit BP, and how they moved. I was always curious about what made them great.

Lesson 8: Be Patiently Impatient

Set ambitious timelines for your dreams and desires, and be patient with the process. If you give yourself a timeframe, stick to it and work tirelessly towards your goals. When I dropped out of HS, I had zero ambitions and dreams. Therefore, I had zero goals in life. I was lucky enough to play at a JUCO which resulted in me getting drafted. Every year in pro ball, I set a goal of hitting .300, which is no coincidence that my career batting average is .300. I always wonder if I had set my goal at .330 and how that would have changed my career

My baseball journey has taught me that no matter where you find yourself in life, the lessons learned on the baseball and softball fields are invaluable. They instill resilience, determination, and a never-give-up spirit.

Merry Christmas, Baseball Flows Family! 🎄

Thank you all for the incredible support and for being part of this community. Your encouragement fuels the passion for what we do. Here's to a new year filled with growth, success, and plenty of baseball and softball wisdom.

Share your experiences and insights on lessons you have learned from playing baseball or softball! Hit reply to this email. Let's learn from each other and embrace the power of Baseball Flows together!

Let's train smarter, move better, and flow in the game.

Best Regards,

Dr. Ismael Gallo DPT, MBA

Founder, Baseball Flows

Want to know more about Baseball Flows? click here